Connect with us


Ogun INEC Gets New REC


Nigeria – Consequent upon the recent re-organization in the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), a new Resident Electoral Commissioner, Mr. Olusegun Agbaje, has been redeployed to INEC Ogun State to take over from the former REC Prof. AbdulGaniy Olayinka Raji who had been posted to INEC Osun State.
The new Hon. Resident Electoral Commissioner, according to Mrs Tadese Adenike, HOD Voter Education & Publicity, arrived INEC State Office Magbon, Abeokuta on 14th September 2021 and received by the former Hon. REC. Prof. AbdulGaniy Olayinka Raji and the Management Team.
Mr. Olusegun Agbaje MFR, mni is a 1977 graduate of Sociology from UNILAG. He hails from Aramoko Town in Ekiti West Local Government Area of Ekiti State.
After his NYSC at the Kwara State Council for Arts and Culture as a Research Officer between 1977 and 1978, he joined the defunct Nigerian Security Organization (NSO) in Sept. 1978 as an Assistant Superintendent of NSO.
He rose through the ranks and between 1988 and 1994 he was a State Director of Security in Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Lagos, and Oyo States.
Between 1999 and 2008 he was a Director Base Command, Lagos as well as Director of several Directorates at the National Headquarters such as Operations, Security Enforcement, Intelligence, Administration and Inspectorate.
He later became the Director, State Service Academy, Lagos from where he retired on 15th January, 2010.
He was first appointed as Hon. REC in INEC in the year 2012 and served in Kogi and Ondo States.
He supervised the 2014 Governorship Election in Osun State, 2015 General Elections and 2016 Governorship Election in Ondo State.
The Hon. REC was reappointed for second term on 18th February 2018 and was sworn in on 16th April, 2018 and posted to Osun State. He supervised the 2018 Governorship Election and the 2019 General Elections in Osun State.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply